Frédéric Mulatier

Basketry and Ceramic Artist

After training under several basketry masters, Frédéric decided to pursue a form of wickerwork that is more artistic than it is traditional. He created his own technique, integrating other materials such as metal, wood, dirt and plants into his works.

Weaving, an endless pathway for self expression, enables him to build intricate wicker interlace in which dirt and metal salts are intertwined.

From everyday life object to one-of-a-kind sculptures, Frédéric explores a rich selection of materials with which he creates unique pieces with plump curves, inspired by nature.

Paris Design Week returns from September 3 to 12, 2020.

For 10 days, Paris becomes the capital of design! On the occasion of Paris Design Week 2020, and to celebrate the best of French contemporary creation, maison parisienne invites all of you to discover Frédéric Mulatier’s latest creations on appointment in our Parisian showroom, an outstanding apartment recently redesigned by a French interior designer and decorated with maison parisienne’s unique collections.

maison parisienne is pleased to introduce you to a preview of these new creations in the latest version of Spotlight on: Frédéric Mulatier!

Basket-weaver and Ceramic Artist

Graduated from École Nationale d’Osiériculture et de Vannerie (National School of Wicker Manufacturing and Basketry), Frédéric Mulatier trained under several master basket-weavers. He then turned towards a form of basketry that is more artistic than practical, integrating to wicker, rattan and bark other materials such as metal, wood, clay, plants. Weaving is a boundless form of self-expression for Frédéric Mulatier, who carefully constructs wicker interlace patterns in which clay and metal salts are twined.

From everyday object to fine sculpture, Frédéric Mulatier explores a wide variety of materials so as to create unique objects inspired by nature, all curves and supple shapes. His creative process revolves around a form of archeology as he endeavors to go back to the very roots of basketry. As wicker grew in earth and clay, it becomes in turn the physical support — the spinal column — of clay, which in turn becomes its nourishing skin.

Frédéric Mulatier uses raw wicker that is produced and manufactured in France, as well as raw clay that he then bakes in a primitive oven that he built himself in Ardèche in the south of France, and that he constantly rebuilds to fit each new artwork he works on. Experimenting with fire, he explores new possibilities, new ways to connect and weld materials, elements and textures. Fire is what reveals lacework patterns, gaps, and mesmerizing colors. Frédéric Mulatier works on modernizing ancestral basketry techniques by combining them with ceramic techniques that are self-taught and with his own creative processes.

Latest Creations

Frédéric Mulatier’s latest collection “Tectonique” was inspired both by plate tectonics and by their effect on human societies. Each one of these new artworks tells a story based on the Destruction of Pompeii. As if excavated after centuries from beneath the debris of this ancient city after the infamous eruption of Mount Vesuvius, these artworks seem to bear witness of the ravages of time and nature. Yet they also are archeological and expressive acts of reinvented memory.

  • wicker sculpture “Rescapée” — clay, wicker, D 38 x H 21 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Rescapée” — clay, wicker, D 38 x H 21 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Rescapée” — clay, wicker, D 38 x H 21 cm, 2020.
  • “Rescapée”, within the “Tectonique” collection, seems to encapsulate the miraculous story of an artwork that somehow managed to remain intact, despite all odds…
  • wicker sculpture “Empreintée” — clay, wicker, D 30 x H 20 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Empreintée” — clay, wicker, D 30 x H 20 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Empreintée” — clay, wicker, D 30 x H 20 cm, 2020.
  • “Empreintée” seems to be the echo of a past age as it bears the marks of that which went up in smoke…
  • wicker sculpture “Isthme” — clay, wicker, D 42 x H 32 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Isthme” — clay, wicker, D 42 x H 32 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Isthme” — clay, wicker, D 42 x H 32 cm, 2020.
  • “Isthme”, with its more marine nature, seems to have been taken out of the water like some amphora lost at sea off the coast of Pompeii…
  • wicker sculpture “Lapilli” — clay, wicker, D 30 x H 22 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Lapilli” — clay, wicker, D 30 x H 22 cm, 2020.
  • wicker sculpture “Lapilli” — clay, wicker, D 30 x H 22 cm, 2020.

As for “Lapilli”, its seems to embody the particular narrative of the seabed and of the bronze sculptures excavated from beneath the ash…

Each artwork is the result of a creative process based on association of ideas, with Pompeii and plate tectonics at the forefront. Stemming from an instinctive quest for emotion, all four of these new creations go back to the intertwined roots of basketry and pottery.

Collaborations

Frédéric Mulatier collaborated in 2016 with French glass-blower Antoine Brodin to create the joint installation “Feux Croisés.”

Frédéric Mulatier and Antoine Brodin, “Feux Croisés” installation — wicker, blown glass, sand, fabric, 2016.

This monumental installation highlighted the almost alchemic dimension of art craft, as materials, both wicker and glass, transformed into something new — a purer, more precious new material. For this installation, Frédéric Mulatier and Antoine Brodin recreated together wicker out of blown glass, and weaved poetical bonfires which they then arranged into an intricate and mystical pattern.

Paris Design Week

The latest contemporary creations by our artists and craftsmen will be presented by in maison parisienne’s Parisian showroom on the occasion of Paris Design Week 2020. Come discover those dazzling works of art, including Frédéric Mulatier’s creations in wicker and clay!
To visit the showroom, click here and make an appointment now.

Frédéric Mulatier

Vannier et Céramiste

Après s’être formé auprès de plusieurs maîtres vanniers, Frédéric s’est tourné vers une vannerie plus artistique que traditionnelle, intégrant d’autres matériaux tels que le métal, le bois, la terre, les végétaux.

Le tressage, moyen d’expression infini, lui permet de construire des entrelacs d’osier dans lesquels terre et sels métalliques viennent s’entremêler.

De l’objet du quotidien à la sculpture, Frédéric explore une palette de matériaux riches pour créer des objets uniques inspirés de la nature, tout en courbes et rondeurs.

Pendant 10 jours, Paris devient la capitale du design ! A l’occasion du Paris Design Week 2020, pour célébrer la création contemporaine française, maison parisienne vous invite à venir découvrir sur rendez-vous les toutes dernières créations de Frédéric Mulatier dans notre showroom parisien, un appartement entièrement repensé par un architecte d’intérieur français et décoré des collections uniques de maison parisienne.

maison parisienne a le plaisir de vous faire découvrir ces oeuvres en avant-première dans cette nouvelle édition digitale de Lumière sur : Frédéric Mulatier !

 

VannieretCéramiste

Diplômé de l’École Nationale d’Osiériculture et de Vannerie (ENOV), Frédéric Mulatier s’est formé auprès de plusieurs maîtres vanniers, avant de se tourner vers une vannerie plus artistique qu’utilitaire, intégrant au travail de l’osier, du rotin et des roseaux d’autres matériaux tels que le métal, le bois massif, le cuir, la terre, les végétaux. Le tressage, moyen d’expression infini, lui permet de construire des entrelacs d’osier dans lesquels terre et sels métalliques viennent s’entremêler.

De l’objet du quotidien à la sculpture, Frédéric Mulatier explore une palette de matériaux riches pour créer des objets uniques inspirés de la nature, tout en courbes et rondeurs. Sa démarche : retourner aux sources mêmes du tressage. Tout comme l’osier a poussé dans la terre, il devient à son tour le support physique, la colonne vertébrale de la terre, qui devient elle, une peau nourricière.

Frédéric Mulatier utilise de l’osier brut, cultivé et récolté en France, et de l’argile crue, qu’il cuit ensuite dans un four primitif qu’il a construit en Ardèche, et qu’il reconstruit à chaque nouvelle cuisson en fonction de la taille de la pièce. Expérimentant avec le feu, Frédéric Mulatier explore de nouvelles possibilités, de nouvelles mises en relation des matières, des éléments et des textures. C’est ainsi qu’apparaissent les failles, les dentelles, les reflets… Il poursuit un travail de modernisation des techniques de vanneries ancestrales, en y intégrant des techniques spécifiques à la céramique, apprises par lui-même, et sa propre sensibilité artistique.

 

NouvellesCréations

La toute nouvelle collection de Frédéric Mulatier, Tectoniques, est inspirée tant par les mouvements géologiques de la Terre que par leurs effets sur les sociétés humaines. Chacune des pièces de cette nouvelle collection raconte une histoire tirée de Pompéi — comme excavées des décombres de la ville détruite par l’éruption du Vésuve après plusieurs siècles, les oeuvres de Frédéric Mulatier semblent témoigner des ravages de la nature et du temps,. Elles sont aussi des actes de mémoire archéologiques, réinventés, et expressifs.

Sculpture en osier “Rescapée” — terre, osier, D 38 x H 21 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Rescapée” — terre, osier, D 38 x H 21 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Rescapée” — terre, osier, D 38 x H 21 cm, 2020.

“Rescapée”, issue de la collection Tectonique, raconte l’histoire d’une oeuvre d’art restée intacte malgré la catastrophe, malgré les siècles…

Sculpture en osier “Empreintée” — terre, osier, D 30 x H 20 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Empreintée” — terre, osier, D 30 x H 20 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Empreintée” — terre, osier, D 30 x H 20 cm, 2020.

“Empreintée” quant à elle, se fait l’écho d’un temps passé, et garde la trace de ce qui est parti en fumée…

Sculpture en osier “Isthme” — terre, osier, D 42 x H 32 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Isthme” — terre, osier, D 42 x H 32 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Isthme” — terre, osier, D 42 x H 32 cm, 2020.

“Isthme”, de nature plus marine, semble sortie des eaux telle une amphore perdue au large de Pompéi…

Sculpture en osier “Lapilli” — terre, osier, D 30 x H 22 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Lapilli” — terre, osier, D 30 x H 22 cm, 2020.

Sculpture en osier “Lapilli” — terre, osier, D 30 x H 22 cm, 2020.

Tandis que “Lapilli” raconte les fonds marins, et les bronzes sortis de la cendre.

Chaque pièce est le résultat d’un long travail d’associations d’idées ayant pour point de départ Pompéi et les mouvements des plaques terrestres. Fruits d’une recherche instinctive de l’émotion, ces quatre pièces remontent aux sources entremêlées de la vannerie et de la poterie.

 

Collaborations

Frédéric Mulatier a collaboré en 2016 avec Antoine Brodin, souffleur de verre, pour créer à quatre mains l’installation “Feux Croisés”.

Frédéric Mulatier et Antoine Brodin, installation “Feux Croisés” — osier, verre, sable, tissu élastique, 2016.

Cette oeuvre monumentale mettait à l’honneur la dimension presque alchimique du travail de la matière, quand celle-ci se transforme en une nouvelle matière, plus pure et plus précieuse. Frédéric Mulatier et Antoine Brodin ont pour cette oeuvre, créé des brins d’osier en verre soufflé, tressés en feux de joie et disposés en conversation les uns avec les autres.

 

Paris Design Week

Les toutes dernières créations contemporaines de ses artistes de la matière seront présentées par maison parisienne dans son showroom parisien à l’occasion de la Paris Design Week 2020. Venez y découvrir entre autres les sculptures en osier et en terre cuite de Frédéric Mulatier !